Closer look at “Those Winter Sundays,” by Robert Hayden–specifically, its use of imagery

 in PN, definition of “imagery” and examples from this poem

“I live my life in growing orbits,” by Rainer Maria Rilke (see below*)

in PN, personal response to question prompted by this poem–with three uses of concrete imagery to develop the personal response

BREAK

“That time of year,” by William Shakespeare

 in PN, start your poem, “When you look at me, you see,” using concrete imagery and the structure of Shakespeare’s poem

*
I live my life in growing orbits
which move out over the things of the world.
Perhaps I can never achieve the last,
but that will be my attempt.

I am circling around God, around the ancient tower,
and I have been circling for a thousand years,
and I still don’t know if I am a falcon, or a storm,
or a great song.

translated by Robert Bly

